RSS

On the Road

16 Jul

I’ve got a couple of half finished posts for the ‘Christianity and Homosexuality’ topic, but it’s going to be a while before they are finished. I’m getting ready to head out on a 4700 mile road trip with our daughter, Grace.

The evolution of a road trip–

Grace asked me last spring if they were ever going to get to see where I grew up in Lake County, Illinois.

“Do you want to see it?”

“Well…yeah.”

“Let’s do it. Road trip this summer.”

And that was how it started.

At first it was going to be straight across I-80 to Chicago, hang out for a few days, and back. I’ve done that trip several times, though. I thought about adding something different into the mix. Grace started asking about Washington State. Washington is not really on the way to Illinois for us, but I had never been farther north than Grant’s Pass, Oregon, and had never been in the northern Rockies, or the northern Plains states.

“Yeah! Sure! Let’s do Washington, too!”

Since getting to Round Lake was the primary purpose of this mission, I at first pictured getting to Illinois first, and coming back to California through Washington. Then I started thinking…after driving to Illinois and hanging out for a few days, it was quite likely that we would be tired and wanting to get home and cut Washington out of the whole trip. Why not go to Washington first? Then when we finish in Illinois, we can just make tracks for home.

So now the truck is checked and ready to go. Camping gear has been inspected. All systems are go…

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 16, 2015 in Road Trip

 

Tags:

4 responses to “On the Road

  1. Jacob Howard

    July 16, 2015 at 10:54 am

    If you’re going up I-5 through Portland, you should stop at Powell’s Books. Bring lots of money…it has a tendency to disappear in Powell’s.

    http://www.powells.com/locations/

    ~Jacob

     
    • George Parker

      July 16, 2015 at 11:09 am

      Powell’s is on the itinerary! I’m going to look specifically for a few WW2 novels I read in high school that have been out of print for forty years or so.

       
      • Jacob Howard

        July 16, 2015 at 11:32 am

        Well, I hope you find them. I’ve never really used Powell’s to look for OOP books, so I don’t know what kind of luck you’ll have, but the place is massive, so it’s worth a shot.

        ~Jacob

         
  2. whitefeatherfloating

    July 16, 2015 at 1:08 pm

    If I were to go there, they would have to drag me out most likely. I’m going to miss you guys SO much!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
