RSS

A Grand Reopening

09 Jun

Now that The Pub is once again open for business, I thought it would be helpful to reorient myself on what I’m trying to accomplish here.

I want The Grinning Dwarf Pub to be a place full of life as I see it all around me. About five hundred years ago, inns and pubs used to be the spot in town where people could get together to discuss the issues of the day. People discussed local events and national events. They discussed politics and religion. They discussed topics and issues that mattered to them. I happen to have opinions on a lot of things. I figured this would be a good place to share those opinions, and invite others to discuss them in a civil manner.

I think it is important to keep posts from 500-1500 words. From what I’ve seen on the Internet, people who will stick around through more than 1500 words tend to be people who love to argue. I don’t want to argue here. Civil discussion…yes. Give and take…yes. Choke a topic in a death grip until both parties crash and burn…no. I invite comments, I would love comments and discussion, but keep this policy in mind. Try to keep your replies and questions short, or everybody else will lose interest and leave. Well…everybody except those who have a morbid interest in seeing train wrecks up close and personal, anyway. I’m sure discussions will reach a point where we will just need to agree to disagree and move on. There was recently (wow…it wasn’t so recently, when I think about it) a discussion on a post which was dragging on and on and getting deeper and deeper into the weeds than I intended to go. I don’t want to play that game here. It’s not what I’m here for. I said my piece in my post, and in previous posts on the topic. I am more than willing to explain and clarify if I need to, but I said my piece in the post. I was already moving on to the next topic. I will not keep beating a discussion to the point that it is taking up all of my time and preventing me from moving on. If I think there is still room to develop an idea based upon a discussion, I might make another blog post on the topic. This particular discussion had reached the point at which it was time to move on. I would appreciate it if Pub patrons respect that. If not, well…don’t make me call the bouncer!

I plan to keep posts specifically on religion limited to Sundays (which seems like a logical and natural fit), but it’s entirely likely that my faith will spill over into other things I write. My faith is an important part of who I am, but I don’t want my little corner of the blogosphere to become part of a Christian ghetto. Everybody is welcome here as long as we remain civil to one another. Diversity in this life is a good thing. I might not be what you think of when you hear the word ‘Christian’ if your only exposure to Christians has been those from the Jerry Falwell crowd. My faith in God affects everything else I do in life. I listen to music, and play music. (Even…worldly music!) I watch movies. (Sometimes even…R-rated movies!) I play games. (Sometimes even…Dungeons and Dragons!) I read books. I read a lot of books. (Even…sometimes even mostly…worldly books.) I love baseball and airplanes and history. I interact with people outside of my faith every day. I enjoy life. I want all of that to be reflected here. I realize that not everybody is interested in everything in which I am interested. That’s okay. Maybe you like my book reviews, but aren’t really interested in my religion or my baseball. That’s okay. I won’t mind if you only read and respond to things with a ‘book review’ tag, for instance.

And with that…

Welcome to the Grand Reopening of The Grinning Dwarf Pub!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 9, 2015 in Blog Business

 

Leave a Reply

 
