RSS

Michael Horton on the Reliability of Scripture

28 Nov

Before this weekend is over, I plan to share two posts on Christianity and homosexuality. In the meantime, The White Horse Inn ran a timely video in which Dr. Michael Horton takes about eight minutes to explain why we believe the Bible is reliable. I believe that Michael Horton is one of the greatest Christian theologians of our time. He takes deep theological truths and communicates them in ways understandable by common people like you and I. He is also a grounded antidote to the wildly popular but false notions of, or even in, Christianity so widespread in our culture today.

If you are interested in following my discussion and do not consider yourself to be a Christian, please take the time to listen to this video. You might not believe this, but it will go a long way if you try to understand why I and other thinking Christians believe the things we do. I know it seems like so many of us believe things “because the pastor said so”, but that is just not true.

This video is a good reference point to understand where I am going to be coming from with my two posts. Dr. Horton plans to post two more short videos on the Scriptures before the end of the year, one on interpreting Scripture, and one on applying Scripture. I’ll repost them when they become available. I’m sure they will be relevant as well. In the meantime, “How Can I Trust That the Bible is Reliable”, from Michael Horton…

http://www.whitehorseinn.org/blog/2014/11/26/recovering-scripture-how-can-i-trust-that-the-bible-is-reliable/

BTW…if you care to post comments, and I encourage you to, remember that this blog was founded as a place where opposing points of view can be discussed civilly.

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Michael Horton on the Reliability of Scripture

  1. Heidi

    November 30, 2014 at 7:25 am

    Hi. George— I tried to check out the video, but got a 404 error/page not found…

     
    • GrinningDwarf

      November 30, 2014 at 8:42 am

      Thanks, Heidi. I just got the same message, but noticed that there is a line at the top saying the website is being updated. I’ll check again and see if it’s working later.

       
  2. GrinningDwarf

    December 2, 2014 at 7:10 pm

    I just followed the link and got to the video. Apparently, they revamp their bog site. Looks like it’s working now.

     

Leave a Reply

 
