RSS

What Makes Me Tick: Politics

18 Apr

These will be quick thumbnail sketches of my basic positions in life. They are definitely not fully fleshed out. That will occur over the course of the blog. Sometimes in these sketches, I do get down to the level of clichés. I can’t find any way to get around that in just a paragraph or two. This is one of the shortfalls of most discussion boards and Facebook status updates. There just isn’t space enough to get past the surface. I will remedy that over the next few weeks. Remember that as you post comments.

 

First…Politics:

 

I’ve been a registered Republican all of my life. I’ve been a firm believer in a strong military and limited government.

 

I’ve been a history buff all of my life, and in light of that I’ve seen how important it is for a country to be able to defend itself. People say that war is not the answer, that it is obsolete. I would agree that war is not ideal. But unilateral disarmament is not the answer, either. All it takes is one country out there that wants what you have and is prepared to take it by force, and if you are not prepared to defend yourself, you will lose. Every war America was involved in through Korea found the United States woefully unprepared at the outset, which cost too many American lives at the outset until we could mobilize and respond. I like Teddy Roosevelt’s “Speak softly and carry a big stick.”

 

All of my life I have thought that people ought to be responsible for themselves and not rely on the government for help. I think the government is far too involved in our lives. I think I could make better use of my money than my government can, so taxes ought to be as low as possible.

 

I still hold to these two basic positions in my political views. However, I’ve come to realize over the last ten years that the Republican Party is not necessarily the torch bearer for these ideals. The Federal government grew more intrusive in the average American’s life under George W. Bush than it did under Bill Clinton. Bush expanded the federal government’s role in education with highly questionable results (think No Child Left Behind). The foreign policy of both parties, Republican and Democrat, have just increased the tangled messes we get involved in around the world. This is one area in which there is not as much difference between Republican or Democrat as most people think.

 

I’ve come to find myself holding views closer to the Libertarian positions in social, fiscal, and foreign policies. I would hesitate at this point to say I whole-heartedly embrace the entire Libertarian spectrum, though.

 

I will certainly be posting more on the particulars in upcoming blogs.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2013 in Politics

 

Tags:

2 responses to “What Makes Me Tick: Politics

  1. moving company

    April 30, 2013 at 4:55 pm

    Oh my goodness! an amazing article dude. Thank you However I am experiencing issue with ur rss . Dont know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting identical rss problem? Anyone who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

     
    • grinningdwarf

      May 1, 2013 at 12:42 pm

      I’ll look into it. Thanks for the heads up!

       

Leave a Reply

 
